“I announce the mutual decision with the Club to no longer manage FC Barcelona,” he said. “Regardless of today’s result I thank the club for everything its given me, I thank President Bartomeu, Football Director Zubizarreta and Sandro Rosell for having confidence in me. I also thank the fans for their respect, and I thank everyone that worked with me and my staff, and I especially thank the players.”

http://youtu.be/xpfQ9bidmxM

Martino, aged 51, had joined Barcelona as a successor to late Tito Vilanova after leading Argentine side Newell’s Old Boys to the Copa Libertadores semi final.

Expressing his sorrow for not winning the league, he said, “I profoundly lament the fact that I was not able to help the players to achieve the objectives of the Club. We tried with dignity. I congratulate Atlético Madrid because they were our great rival this season, they did a fantastic job and I’m certain they will continue to do well.”

— FC Barcelona (@FCBarcelona) May 17, 2014

Following the conference, Barcelona’s football director Andoni Zubizarreta told reporters, “We thank Martino for the job he’s done throughout this complicated season.”

Former Barcelona player Luis Enrique is poised to replace Martino after he stepped down as Celta Vigo’s manager.

0 votes